The Sacraments

“Christian Initiation incorporates us into Christ and forms us into God’s people. In Baptism, God adopts us as children and makes us a new creation through water and the Holy Spirit. As we are signed with the gift of the Spirit in Confirmation, God brings us to the full stature of the Lord Jesus to continue his mission in the world. At the table of the Eucharist, we are fed on the sacrament of Christ’s body and blood, and, with the whole Church, take part in the saving offering of Christ on the cross. In Sunday Mass, those who have been initiated are continually formed by the word of God and affirmed in their belonging to the Church, the Body of Christ.”
Christian Initiation for Children
Sacramental Policy of the Archdiocese of Brisbane


Baptism is the first of three Sacraments of Initiation in the Catholic Church, the other two being Confirmation and Eucharist. Through Baptism we are incorporated into the body of Christ. Baptism is celebrated by immersion or the pouring of water with the words…“I baptise you in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit”.


The Sacrament of Confirmation is the second of the three sacraments of initiation. Confirmation completes Baptism, by which in the laying on of hands and the anointing with Chrism Oil, which first happened at Baptism, we are confirmed with the fullness of the Holy Spirit. We are reminded of our participation in the ministry and mission of Jesus, and strengthened to follow Jesus more closely.

Holy Eucharist

Eucharist is the sacrament that completes the process of initiation and is when one can fully participate in the Eucharist by receiving Holy Communion. Eucharist is unique among the sacraments as it is at the heart of our faith. For Catholics, the Eucharist, or Mass, is the most powerful way we encounter the real presence of Jesus Christ. Sunday after Sunday (some, of course, gather everyday), Catholics gather to celebrate the Eucharist, the ritual in which, by the power of the Holy Spirit, bread and wine are transformed into the Body and Blood of Christ.


The Sacrament of Penance is one of two sacraments of healing (the other being the Anointing of the Sick). Penance is a sacrament of forgiveness and celebrates God’s love and mercy towards us. It is about acknowledging and naming those times when we know we have done wrong, and then making peace and restoring the relationships with those who have been affected by our poor choices. The Sacrament of Penance is celebrated through the Rites of Reconciliation.

Anointing of the Sick

The Anointing of the Sick is a sacrament of the Church for those whose health is seriously impaired by sickness or old age. It is a source of healing for the sick rather than the final act of the church for the dying.

The Sacrament enables the sick or aged person to be anointed with the oil of the sick, to experience the healing and strength of Jesus Christ and to be supported by a praying community.

Holy Matrimony

The Sacrament of Holy Matrimony binds a man and women to a partnership for their whole life. Marriage is indissovable in the same way that Christ and His Church are indissolvable. This covenant has been raised by Christ to a sacrament of the Church.

Holy Orders

The Sacrament of Holy Orders is reserves for men who are called to a vocation of ordained life. Knowing God’s call in your life is a process of discernment and it can be hard to know where we are being called upon to use our gifts. For young men interested in exploring priesthood as a possible vocation, our archdiocese offers a wide range of information at